How many supplemental essays do colleges require? What 234 colleges' own pages say for 2026-27
108 of the 234 colleges checked against their own admissions pages (46%) ask for no supplemental essay in 2026-27. The other 126 (54%) ask for school-specific writing: 110 from every applicant, 16 only from some applicants. Among the 110, the most common load is one prompt (62 colleges), the median total is 500 words, and the most common limit on a single prompt is 250 words.
Numbers cover the 234 of the 267colleges NudgeEssay tracks whose requirements were checked against the college’s own site between 17 August 2026 and 17 September 2026. Every figure on this page is computed from that dataset when the page is built. See the method below for what is left out.
Updated . Written and maintained by NudgeEssay; how facts on this site are sourced and corrected is on the about page.
How many colleges ask for a supplemental essay
108 of 234 (46%) ask for none: the personal statement is the only essay. The full list of colleges with no supplemental essays lists every tracked college that reports none, dated or not. When each application is due, round by round, is on the Early Decision and Early Action deadlines page.
126 of 234 (54%) ask for school-specific writing. 110 ask it of every applicant. 16 ask it only of some applicants, by undergraduate college, by program, or of test-optional applicants: Baylor University, Carleton College, Centre College, College of Wooster, Cornell University, Duquesne University, Furman University, Indiana University Bloomington, Presbyterian College, St. John's University (NY), University of Delaware, University of Missouri (Mizzou), University of San Francisco (USF), UT Arlington, UT San Antonio (UTSA), Winthrop University.
How many prompts each college asks for
Across the 110colleges that ask every applicant for supplemental writing. A menu such as “choose one of three” counts as one prompt. Required and optional prompts both count.
| Prompts every applicant meets | Colleges |
|---|---|
| 1 | 62 |
| 2 | 25 |
| 3 | 7 |
| 4 or more | 16 |
How many words in total
Median 500 words per college, most 1,650 at Texas A&M University (7 prompts). Computed over the 58 colleges whose every counted prompt has a limit stated in words, taking each prompt at its upper limit and a menu at its longest option. Colleges with a limit stated in characters, or not stated at all, are in the table below with a floor figure but are left out of the median.
Most common word limits
Of the 201 prompts with a limit stated in words at the 110 colleges above, counting a range at its upper number:
| Limit | Prompts |
|---|---|
| 250 words | 58 |
| 500 words | 35 |
| 200 words | 22 |
| 150 words | 20 |
| 100 words | 13 |
All 110 colleges, most words first
Every checked college that asks every applicant for supplemental writing, ranked by the total upper word limit. A plus sign means at least one counted item has no limit stated in words, so the figure is a floor. Each link opens the college’s prompts, word for word, with its deadlines.
| # | College | Prompts | Total words | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Evansville | 11 | 3,000+ | 2026-09-04 |
| 2 | Texas A&M University | 7 | 1,650 | 2026-09-17 |
| 3 | University of Texas at Austin | 4 | 1,550 | 2026-08-18 |
| 4 | University of California System (All 9 Undergraduate Campuses) | 4 | 1,400 | 2026-09-17 |
| 5 | Northwestern University | 6 | 1,300 | 2026-09-05 |
| 6 | Pitzer College | 2 | 1,300 | 2026-09-05 |
| 7 | Princeton University | 7 | 1,150+ | 2026-08-18 |
| 8 | University of Oregon | 2 | 1,150 | 2026-08-18 |
| 9 | Massachusetts Institute of Technology | 8 | 1,000 | 2026-08-29 |
| 10 | University of Arizona | 2 | 1,000 | 2026-08-17 |
| 11 | California Institute of Technology | 6 | 950+ | 2026-08-30 |
| 12 | Columbia University | 6 | 850 | 2026-08-30 |
| 13 | University of Michigan | 2 | 850 | 2026-09-05 |
| 14 | Brown University | 4 | 800 | 2026-08-18 |
| 15 | Rice University | 4 | 800+ | 2026-08-18 |
| 16 | Babson College | 2 | 750 | 2026-09-04 |
| 17 | Bentley University | 4 | 750+ | 2026-09-04 |
| 18 | Duke University | 3 | 750 | 2026-09-05 |
| 19 | Harvey Mudd College | 2 | 750 | 2026-08-18 |
| 20 | University of Maryland, College Park | 7 | 650+ | 2026-09-05 |
| 21 | Dartmouth College | 3 | 600 | 2026-08-30 |
| 22 | Davidson College | 2 | 600 | 2026-09-05 |
| 23 | University of Pennsylvania | 3 | 600 | 2026-08-30 |
| 24 | Bowdoin College | 3 | 500+ | 2026-08-18 |
| 25 | Claremont McKenna College | 2 | 500 | 2026-08-18 |
| 26 | CUNY Baruch College | 1 | 500 | 2026-08-17 |
| 27 | CUNY Hunter College | 1 | 500 | 2026-08-17 |
| 28 | Illinois State University | 1 | 500 | 2026-09-04 |
| 29 | Meredith College | 1 | 500 | 2026-09-04 |
| 30 | Pepperdine University | 1 | 500 | 2026-08-18 |
| 31 | Providence College | 1 | 500 | 2026-09-04 |
| 32 | Purdue University | 2 | 500 | 2026-08-18 |
| 33 | Sarah Lawrence College | 1 | 500 | 2026-08-17 |
| 34 | Swarthmore College | 2 | 500 | 2026-08-30 |
| 35 | Texas Christian University | 1 | 500 | 2026-08-30 |
| 36 | University of Cincinnati | 1 | 500 | 2026-09-04 |
| 37 | Washington and Lee University | 2 | 500 | 2026-08-30 |
| 38 | Virginia Tech | 4 | 480 | 2026-08-18 |
| 39 | Grinnell College | 1 | 450 | 2026-08-30 |
| 40 | Haverford College | 2 | 400 | 2026-08-29 |
| 41 | Pomona College | 2 | 400 | 2026-08-18 |
| 42 | Wake Forest University | 2 | 400 | 2026-08-30 |
| 43 | Amherst College | 2 | 350+ | 2026-09-05 |
| 44 | Emory University | 2 | 350 | 2026-08-18 |
| 45 | Johns Hopkins University | 1 | 350 | 2026-09-05 |
| 46 | University of Notre Dame | 3 | 350 | 2026-08-30 |
| 47 | Barnard College | 2 | 300 | 2026-08-30 |
| 48 | Colorado College | 1 | 300 | 2026-08-30 |
| 49 | Gonzaga University | 1 | 300 | 2026-08-18 |
| 50 | Santa Clara University | 2 | 300+ | 2026-08-18 |
| 51 | Trinity College (CT) | 1 | 300 | 2026-08-17 |
| 52 | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign | 2 | 300 | 2026-08-18 |
| 53 | George Mason University | 1 | 250 | 2026-08-17 |
| 54 | Le Moyne College | 1 | 250 | 2026-09-04 |
| 55 | New York University | 1 | 250 | 2026-08-29 |
| 56 | Occidental College | 1 | 250 | 2026-08-30 |
| 57 | Stonehill College | 1 | 250 | 2026-09-04 |
| 58 | University of Central Florida | 1 | 250 | 2026-09-17 |
| 59 | University of Colorado Boulder | 1 | 250 | 2026-08-30 |
| 60 | University of Rochester | 1 | 250 | 2026-08-30 |
| 61 | Vanderbilt University | 1 | 250 | 2026-08-18 |
| 62 | Villanova University | 1 | 250 | 2026-08-30 |
| 63 | Washington University in St. Louis | 1 | 250 | 2026-08-30 |
| 64 | Lafayette College | 1 | 200 | 2026-09-05 |
| 65 | UMass Amherst | 2 | 200 | 2026-08-18 |
| 66 | Dickinson College | 3 | 150 | 2026-08-17 |
| 67 | Tufts University | 1 | 150 | 2026-08-30 |
| 68 | Appalachian State University | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-08-17 |
| 69 | Auburn University | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-08-17 |
| 70 | Berry College | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 71 | Brigham Young University (BYU) | 7 | not stated in words | 2026-08-18 |
| 72 | Canisius University | 2 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 73 | Coastal Carolina University | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 74 | Coe College | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 75 | College of Charleston | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 76 | East Carolina University (ECU) | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-08-17 |
| 77 | Elmhurst University | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 78 | Endicott College | 3 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 79 | Illinois Institute of Technology | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-08-17 |
| 80 | Juniata College | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 81 | Linfield University | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 82 | Lipscomb University | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 83 | Luther College | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 84 | Macalester College | 2 | not stated in words | 2026-08-18 |
| 85 | Manhattan University | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 86 | Montclair State University | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 87 | Niagara University | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 88 | North Carolina State University | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-05 |
| 89 | Oakland University | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 90 | Oregon State University | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-08-30 |
| 91 | Roger Williams University | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 92 | Seattle University | 2 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 93 | Siena University | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 94 | St. Olaf College | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-08-17 |
| 95 | Stetson University | 5 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 96 | Texas State University | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-17 |
| 97 | The College of New Jersey | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 98 | Truman State University | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 99 | University of Chicago | 2 | not stated in words | 2026-08-30 |
| 100 | University of Houston | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-05 |
| 101 | University of Illinois Chicago | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-08-17 |
| 102 | University of Minnesota Twin Cities | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-08-17 |
| 103 | University of Northern Colorado | 2 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 104 | University of Pittsburgh (Pitt) | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-08-30 |
| 105 | University of Redlands | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 106 | University of St. Thomas (Houston, TX) | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 107 | Valparaiso University | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 108 | Wellesley College | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-05 |
| 109 | Western Carolina University | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-09-04 |
| 110 | Williams College | 1 | not stated in words | 2026-08-18 |
Method
Source: each college’s own admissions site, read between 17 August 2026 and 17 September 2026. Outside essay guides are not a source here, because they copy each other and go stale together.
Dataset: 267 colleges tracked for 2026-27. Counted: 234, each with a dated check against the college’s own site. 159by reading the prompt page or the college’s own statement that it asks for no supplement; 75 by reading the college’s application checklist, which names no essay.
Left out: 31colleges whose latest dated check was against outside essay guides rather than the college’s own page, and 2 with no dated check. Their pages still exist on this site and say so.
Counting: only prompts every applicant meets. Prompts for one undergraduate college, one program, or one applicant group are not counted. Required and optional prompts both count. A menu counts as one prompt and contributes its longest option. A range counts at its upper number. A limit stated in characters or lines, or not stated, adds nothing and marks the college’s total as a floor; those colleges are left out of the median. An item that is not an essay, such as a graded paper or an image, is treated the same way.
Not used: no student essays, no customer data, nothing submitted to NudgeEssay. A college can change its prompts mid-cycle, so confirm on the college’s own page before you write. The same question for medical school, law school, MBA, PhD and master’s applications is answered from a separate dataset at how many essays graduate programs require.
Questions
- How many colleges require supplemental essays?
- Of the 234 colleges NudgeEssay checked against each college's own admissions site between 17 August 2026 and 17 September 2026, 108 (46%) ask for no supplemental essay for 2026-27, and 126 (54%) ask for school-specific writing. 110 of those 126 ask it of every applicant; 16 ask it only of some applicants, such as one undergraduate college, one program, or test-optional applicants.
- How many supplemental essays does a college usually ask for?
- Among the 110 checked colleges that ask every applicant for supplemental writing, 62 ask for one prompt, 25 ask for two, 7 ask for three, and 16 ask for four or more. A menu such as "choose one of three" counts as one prompt, and required and optional prompts are both counted.
- How many words of supplemental essays does a college ask for in total?
- The median is 500 words per college, across the 58 checked colleges whose every prompt carries a limit stated in words, counting each prompt at its upper limit. The most is 1,650 words at Texas A&M University, across 7 prompts.
- What is the most common supplemental essay word limit?
- 250 words. Of the 201 prompts with a limit stated in words at the 110 checked colleges that ask every applicant for supplemental writing, 58 cap at 250 words, 35 at 500, 22 at 200, 20 at 150, 13 at 100. A range such as 150 to 250 words is counted at its upper number.
- Where do these numbers come from?
- From NudgeEssay's own dataset of 267 colleges' 2026-27 essay requirements, read from each college's own admissions site. Only the 234 colleges with a dated check against the college's own site are counted: 159 by reading the prompt page or the college's own statement that it asks for no supplement, 75 by reading the college's application checklist, which names no essay. 31 colleges whose latest dated check was against outside essay guides and 2 with no dated check are left out. No student essays or customer data are used.